25 things to keep in mind for when I turn twenty-five

tumblr_mtlhqpLY2R1s99dcoo1_400

My initial reaction to turning 25.

I’m turning twenty-five in approximately 10 days. That’s a quarter of a century old.

 Hard to believe? Definitely. The idea of being half way through my twenties doesn’t scare me (yet), but it has made me reevaluate things as to where I want to go in life, and how far I’ve come since turning twenty. The thought that does scare me a bit is not knowing where I’ll be in another five years. Will I have succeeded? Will I be living my dream life? What’s going on, future me??? Sorry, I’m getting a little ahead of myself (no pun intended). I don’t really want to know, but I do want to experience it. I’ve learned a lot since turning twenty, and I still have plenty more to learn.

The list below is a compilation of reminders for me for when I reach the other leg of my 20s.

  1. Change is scary, but essential. Embrace the new, and go with it!
  2. Don’t worry about what others are doing with their lives and careers. No one is the same, for we are all going down different roads.
  3. Go after what you want.
  4. It’s ok to be scared, but don’t let it take over what you want out of life.
  5. Bright lipstick is a great pick-me-up, even on the days when nothing is happening.
  6. You can’t always expect the unexpected, so when the unexpected comes, take a few deep breaths.
  7. Develop a thick skin; accept constructive criticism, but let negativity roll off your shoulders like water on the wings of a swan.
  8. Always have something home-baked on hand.
  9. Typing is convenient, but handwriting is lovelier.
  10. Set aside time for yourself to do whatever you want.
  11. Keep in touch with old friends.
  12. Speaking up doesn’t make you bitchy. It makes you boss!
  13. Never take what you have for granted.
  14. What you know now is part of your ever-growing wisdom.
  15. Some things take time, and that’s ok.
  16. Push yourself just a bit more.
  17. More often than not, a phone call is better than email.
  18. Get it done, whatever it is.
  19. Get to bed earlier.
  20. When you’re good to your body, it will be good to you.
  21. Do nice things for your parents.
  22. As much as you need a good laugh, a good cry helps too.
  23. Everything will work out just fine.
  24. Trust your gut.
  25. And finally… Carpe diem. Always.

Leave a comment