This Valentine’s Day…

I conquered what I like to call, the Pavarotti of Italian desserts. What is it, you ask? Well my friends, look no further:

IMG_20150213_160116 Tiramisu. A big heaping trifle bowl full of boozy/coffee soaked lady fingers and mascarpone cheese, courtesy of America’s Test Kitchen. (But I got the recipe through this awesome blog.) Ce’st manifique! It’s not so much for a Valentine’s day gig as it is something I’ve wanted to make since the beginning of time… Which so happens to have coincided with said holiday. And now I did it! After a 24 hour incubation period in the fridge, I’ll find out how it tastes tonight. Hopefully good, as it took three hours of preparation. *Take note of mess in the pictures*.

IMG_20150213_155946_edit

I mean, look at this mother trucker.

It could feed 100,000 couples this Valentine’s Day. But for tonight, I’ll just be feeding it to my adoring fam, who I believe will fall at my feet in gratitude for making it.

It’s a relatively easy dessert to put together, as it requires no cooking, but it does take a certain amount of prep time.

anigif_enhanced-buzz-22482-1363888619-6

If you’ve ever seen Sleepless in Seattle, there’s that famous scene between Sam Baldwin and his guy friend in the pub, where he has absolutely no idea what tiramisu is.  I couldn’t find a clip of it on youtube (the nerve!) so the dialogue goes a little something like this:

“What is Tiramisu?”

“You find out.”

“Well, what is it?”

“You’ll see!”

“You better tell me. Some woman is gonna want me to do it to her and I’m not gonna know what it is!”

Thank you, Nora Ephron, for catapulting a mere dessert into movie stardom by making it sound like something dirty.

Never the less, I can’t wait to try it.

Happy V-day, lovebirds and all birds alike!

2 thoughts on “This Valentine’s Day…

Leave a Reply

